The 2009 APRA (Australian Performing Rights Association)  have been run and won at the annual award night held in Melbourne, Australia. The winners, across 12 categories including the prestigious peer voted APRA SONG OF THE YEAR, represent the songwriters behind the most successful works of 2008. And in a symbolic affirmation of the positive health of Australian songwriting, first time winners are represented across 9 categories. 

In their first ever APRA nomination, the coveted APRA SONG OF THE YEAR Award has been won by THE LIVING END for their scorching rock anthem White Noise which captured the imagination of the 30,000 eligible voters who make the APRA SONG OF THE YEAR the single, biggest peer voted music award in Australia. Gibson, who has a strong association with APRA, provided a Gibson Les Paul Studio as the major prize surrounding Song Of The Year.

The prestigious APRA SONGWRITER OF THE YEAR, - decided by the APRA Board of Writer and Publisher Directors - has been awarded to KIM MOYES and JULIAN HAMILTON of THE PRESETS.  Capping off what has been an astonishing year for the duo, their phenomenally successful album Apocalypso showcased their lyrical daring and proved that they are an Australian songwriting force to be reckoned with. While Julian Hamilton is a previous APRA Award winner (as co-writer of “Straight Lines” with Daniel Johns), this is the first win for THE PRESETS. 

And proving that the almighty AC/DC just keep on keeping on, the band have won the category of MOST PLAYED AUSTRALIAN WORK OVERSEAS for the classic Bon Scott, Angus Young and Malcolm Young penned Highway to Hell. Rock n’ roll will never die!

The 2009 APRA Music Awards will broadcast exclusively on MAX, on Sunday, July 5 at 8:30 p.m.

For a full list of the 2009 APRA Award winners please check out -