Previously undiscovered poems and lyrics written by Johnny Cash have been turned into a new collaborative album titled Johnny Cash: Forever Words, with one new track from late Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell.

Johnny Cash: Forever Words is released on April 6 via Sony’s Legacy Recordings and will feature Ruston Kelly & Kacey Musgraves, Rosanne Cash, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Kris Kristofferson & Willie Nelson, Brad Paisley, John Mellencamp, Carlene Carter, Elvis Costello, The Jayhawks and the late Chris Cornell.

Johnny Cash’s son John Carter Cash acted as a co-producer on this new collaborative album and describes it as a “monstrous amassment” of undiscovered material from The Man In Black.

The track “You Never Knew My Mind” is sung and performed by Chris Cornell as one of the artist’s last-ever solo recordings. This track will be released almost 21 years after Cash covered Soundgarden’s “Rusty Cage” for his American Recordings-era album, Unchained. Cash wasn’t particularly a Soundgarden fan, though: for that Unchained recording, producer Rick Rubin thought it would be a good song for Cash to cover, but re-recorded it first in a more palatable form for Cash to consider.

Johnny Cash

Johnny Cash: Forever Words tracklist:

  1. “Forever/I Still Miss Someone” – Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson
  2. “To June This Morning” – Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves
  3. Gold All Over the Ground” – Brad Paisley
  4. “You Never Knew My Mind” – Chris Cornell
  5. “The Captain’s Daughter” – Alison Krauss and Union Station
  6. “Jellico Coal Man” – T. Bone Burnett
  7. “The Walking Wounded” – Rosanne Cash
  8. “Them Double Blues” – John Mellencamp
  9. “Body on Body” – Jewel
  10. “I’ll Still Love You” – Elvis Costello
  11. “June’s Sundown” – Carlene Carter
  12. “He Bore It All” – Daily and Vincent
  13. “Chinky Pin Hill” – I’m With Her
  14. “Goin’, Goin’, Gone” – Robert Glasper featuring Ro James, and Anu Sun
  15. “What Would I Dreamer Do?” – The Jayhawks
  16. “Spirit Rider” – Jamey Johnson